Sprint to finish decides Miami marathon

Updated: January 30, 2012

MIAMI (AP) — Samuel Malakwen beat out Teferi Bacha by about a stride’s length in a sprint down the finish-line chute to win the Miami Marathon on Sunday.

Both runners had a time of 2 hours, 16 minutes, 55 seconds, but the Kenyan edged out the Ethiopian at the tape.

Benazzouz Slimani of Italy was third in 2:19:48, and Guatemalans Alfredo Areval (2:22:44) and Mynor Armando Aguilon (2:23:55).

Raquel Maraviglia of Argentina won the women’s race in 2:41:39, leading from the start and coming in nearly four minutes ahead of Wioletta Kryza of Poland (2:45:32) and 2011 champion Alena Vinitskaya of Belarus (2:45:48). It was Maraviglia’s fourth career marathon.

The 10th anniversary of the race went through Miami and Miami Beach on a clear, 66-degree morning.

Copyright 2012 The Associated Press.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>