Boxing: Record Entry for 2013 AIBA World Elite Championships

Updated: September 28, 2013

As we reported yesterday on SportsNewsIreland, the IABA’s 9 man squad leaves Dublin Airport this weekend en route for Almaty and a training camp with the local Kazakhstan boxers, prior to the Elite Championships.

No John Joe Nevin of course but Billy Walsh is quietly confident as to his team’s chances.


“The World Championships is always the toughest tournament, tougher than the Olympic Games. If the team perform to their full potential they’re very capable of doing well.


“They proved themselves at the European Championships in Belarus this summer. They took home two gold and two silver. If we’d had more luck with injuries we would probably have taken home more medals.


“It’s all about performance. Our squad are well capable of competing against the top nations as they have consistently proven.


As the registration deadline for the Championships has now passed, the International Boxing Association (AIBA) has confirmed that it is expecting a new record of participants to be set in Kazakhstan.


Two years after the AIBA signature event was held in Baku, Azerbaijan, with a record of 570 boxers from 113 countries, a total of 576 boxers (excluding the reserves) have been registered by 116 countries (Indian boxers will compete under the AIBA flag) around the World.


“We are extremely pleased with these numbers which demonstrates the growth of our competitions and AIBA as a whole”, stated Dr Ching-Kuo Wu, AIBA President. “These 2013 AIBA World Boxing Championships will be historical for many reasons and I am very much looking forward to welcoming all of you in Almaty”.


The AIBA World Boxing Championships Almaty 2013 will be held at the Baluan Sholak Palace of Culture and Sports between 11 and 27 October. The competition will be organized under the new AIBA Technical Rules and AIBA Open Boxing (AOB) Competition Rules: no headguard and Ten-Point Must scoring system.





Africa (22)

Algeria, Angola, Botswana, Central African Republic, DR of Congo, Egypt, Gambia, Ghana, Guinea, Kenya, Morocco, Mali, Mauritius, Nigeria, Senegal, Seychelles, Sierra Leone, Swaziland, Tanzania, Zambia, Zimbabwe.


Americas (25)

Argentina, Bahamas, Barbados, Brazil, Canada, Cayman Islands, Chile, Costa Rica, Cuba, Dominica, Dominican Republic, Ecuador, Grenada, Guatemala, Guyana, Haiti, Jamaica, Saint Lucia, Mexico, Nicaragua, Puerto Rico, Trinidad and Tobago, Uruguay, United States of America, Venezuela.


Asia (26)

Afghanistan, Bangladesh, Bhutan, China, Indonesia, Iran, Jordan, Japan, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Korea, Laos, Mongolia, Nepal, Pakistan, Philippines, Palestine, DPR Korea, Sri Lanka, Syria, Thailand, Tajikistan, Turkmenistan, United Arab Emirates, Uzbekistan, Vietnam, AIBA.


Europe (39)

Armenia, Azerbaijan, Bosnia & Herzegovina, Belarus, Bulgaria, Croatia, Czech Republic, Denmark, England, Spain, Estonia, Finland, France, Georgia, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Kosovo, Latvia, Lithuania, Moldova, Republic of Macedonia, Montenegro, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Romania, Russia, Scotland, Slovenia, Serbia, Slovakia, Sweden, Turkey, Ukraine, Wales.


Oceania (4)

American Samoa, Australia, Nauru, New Zealand.


As always you can follow the fate of the Irish team throughout the Championships here on SportsNewsIreland


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>