Boxing Results : Irish Elites get underway at National Stadium

Updated: February 4, 2017
boxing arena

The 2017 National Elite Championships got underway Friday with nine unanimous and three split decisions at the National Stadium in Dublin.

Former Elite champion Myles Casey beat Eamon McNally, but his St Francis BC team-mate Tommy Casey lost to TJ Waite, who was beaten by Rio Olympian Brendan Irvine in the 2015 Irish final.

St Francis BC chief seconds Ken Moore praised the performance of both men in an emotional week for the Treaty City unit following the death of club President Noel Griffin.

“Both of our lads performed well. It will be hard for us to say goodbye to Noel at tomorrow’s funeral. He has given sixty years service to Limerick and Irish boxing and is irreplaceable,” said Moore, former club coach to Irish Olympian and ex-WBO World middleweight champion Andy Lee.

Mark McCole also won to set up Saturday’s clash with European Elite bronze medallist Dean Walsh, who claimed the light-welter Elite last time out but who has moved up to welter.

Evan Metcalfe, Emmet Brennan, Fearghus Quinn, Stephen Broadhurst, Caoimhin Hynes, Michael Frayne, John Joe McDonagh, Anthony Brown and Cormac Long also had their hands raised in victory.

Long beat Geoffrey Kavanagh in a repeat of the recent National U/22 final with Kavanagh won.

The tournament resumes this evening at 7pm.

The IABA are using all five judges to score bouts in line with new AIBA directives. Five judges did score bouts prior to the Rio 2016 Olympics but only three scores were used.

National Elite Championships National Stadium Dublin

Q/Finals: February 3rd (7pm)

52kg TJ Waite (Ormeau Road) beat Tommy Casey (St Francis) 5-0
56kg Evan Metcalfe (Crumlin) beat Frankie Cleary (Ballina) 5-0
56kg Myles Casey (St Francis) beat Eamon McNally (St Michaels Antrim) 5-0
69kg Mark McCole (Dungloe) beat Fergal Redmond (Arklow) 5-0
75kg Emmett Brennan (Glasnevin) beat John Joyce (St Michaels Athy) 5-0
75kg Fearghus Quinn (Camlough) beat Glory Carlos Lumuala (Maynooth) 5-0
75kg Stephen Broadhurst (Delagan) beat David Bicevas (St Saviours OBA) 5-0
75kg Caoimhin Hynes (Holy Trinity) beat Conor Doherty (Emerald Antrim) 5-0
81kg Michael Frayne (St Marys Dublin) beat  Robert Burke (Glasnevin) 5-0
81kg Anthony Browne (St Michaels Dub) beat  Sean Conroy (Ballina) 3-2
91kg John Joe McDonagh (Crumlin) beat Kiril Afanasev (Smithfield) 3-2
91kg Cormac Long (Rathkeale) beat Geoffrey Kavanagh (Glasnevin) 4-1

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>