Boxing: Ten countries represented at Celtic Box Cup in Dungarvan

Updated: September 25, 2013

All roads lead to the West Waterford town of Dungarvan this weekend where the inaugural Celtic Box Cup gets underway on Friday, with semi-finals on Saturday and finals on Sunday.

Some three hundred boxers will travel to Dungarvan for the three day tournament. Boxers from novice to open class will compete in the same rings in the various classes. Boxers from no fewer than 10 countries have entered and the Irish challenge is led by Olympic Captain Darren O’Neill.

This event is expected to attract not only the 300 boxers plus coaches and officials but also hundreds of supporters from throughout Ireland , bringing the total expected up to 800 for the three day boxing event, which is been held between September 27th and 29th.

That in turn is expected to provide Dungarvan with a huge economic boost at the end of the tourist season.

Box Cup Tournaments are very popular in Europe, especially in Scandinavia whilst Irish boxers have in recent years excelled themselves at the Haringey Box Cup at Alexandra Palace in North London.

Teams of up to ten boxers will compete for the overall Celtic Box Cup which will be presented around 6/7pm on Sunday.

We can expect some excellent bouts in the women’s events at the Dungarvan Sports Centre, for the entries include many of the current Irish internationals including Lynne McEnery-O’Shea, Dervla Duffy, Kelly Harrington, Ceire Smith and European Union silver medallist ,Lianne McAree Murphy.
Several of the stars of tomorrow have also entered among them Irish Elite Champions Clare Grace (Callan) and Hannah McCarthy (Paulstown BC).

Boxing starts at 3pm on Friday and at 12noon on Saturday and Sunday and of course apart from the great boxing it will be an ideal opportunity for the young, and young at heart, to collect scores of autographs.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>