Leitrim v Laois: Team News & live score commentary

Updated: July 21, 2012
leitrim gaa y

We have live score commentary as Laois travel to Carrick on Shannon on Saturday evening for an interesting round 3 qualifier tie against a resurgent Leitrim side.


Following their first victory in the qualifiers since their inception in 2001, lady luck shone down on Leitrim once again, with another home draw secured. Morale will be high after their recent win against Wicklow and another big crowd will be expected at the Shannon side venue.

In the last round Enda Williams at number 6 and centre forward Emlyn Mulligan were the chief playmakers. Mulligan may not be scoring as much from open play as he would like, however his creativity ensures that key inside forwards Ray Cox and James Glancy receive an ample supply of quality possession.

Laois will be in confident mood after their excellent 6 point victory against Monaghan last weekend. They are a physical and well drilled outfit. Team manager Justin McNulty will look to centre back John O’ Loughlin and midfielder Brendan Quigley to utilize their ball carrying ability and take the game to the home side. In attack Ross Munnelly and Colm Kelly are the main scoring threats.

As a division 4 team Leitrim have nothing to lose and can play without the burden of expectation. Laois played their league football in division 1 this season and they will have much higher expectations. It is hard to see the home team halting their gallop.

Verdict: Laois.

Leitrim: C McCrann, P McGuire, F McMurrow, A Wynne, C Clarke, E Williams, D Beck, D Sweeney, S Moran, P Mcgowan, E Mulligan, P Brennan, R Cox, J Glancy, K Conlon.

Laois: E Culliton, C Healy, K Meaney, J Kavanagh, D Strong, J O’ Loughlin, C Boyle, B Quigley, C Begley, R Munnelly, B Sheehan, G Walsh, D O’ Connor, P Clancy, C Kelly.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>