Cork & Waterford both makes changes

Updated: July 28, 2012

CORK boss Jimmy Barry-Murphy has made three changes to his side for this Sunday’s eagerly awaited clash with Waterford in the All-Ireland quarter-final.

Semple Stadium in Thurles plays host to an exciting double-header, with Kilkenny taking on Limerick in the second clash of the day at 4pm.

Household name Sean Og O hAilpin returns to his customary position at left-half back at the expense of William Egan, who has impressed thus far in this year’s championship for Cork.

The 2005 All-Ireland winning captain will make his first championship start in almost two years this Sunday, as the Rebels bid to overcome their bitter rivals to ensure their place in the All-Ireland semi-final.

Sarsfield’s Daniel Kearney replaces Lorcan McLoughlin at midfield, with the youngster primed to make his first senior championship start in the red jersey, having been introduced against Tipperary back in the Munster championship in May.

Stephen McDonell is also named at full back in place of Damien Cahalane, having been dropped for their recent encounter against Wexford in the qualifiers.

According to the Irish Examiner, Cork have just six of the team that started in the 2010 Munster final reply defeat to Waterford – O hAilpin, Shane O’Neill, Brian Murphy, Tom Kenny, Eoin Cadogan and Niall McCarthy. The Deise themselves have nine of the team that began that game in Semple Stadium.

Waterford have made just one change for Sunday’s must-win game, with Thomas Ryan introduced at left-full forward in what is his first championship start, replacing Gavin O’Brien.

Manager Michael Ryan has largest kept faith his side that lost out to Tipperary in the Munster final earlier this month.

Cork: A Nash; S O’Neill, S McDonnell, B Murphy; T Kenny, E Cadogan, S Og O hAilpin; D Kearney, P Cronin; C Lehane, C McCarthy, N McCarthy; P O’Sullivan, L O’Farrell, P Horgan.

Waterford: S O’Keeffe; S Daniels, L Lawlor, N Connors; T Browne, M Walsh, K Moran; S Molumphy, Philip Mahony; Pauric Mahony, S Prendergast, M Shanahan; J Mullane, S Walsh, T Ryan.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>