Meath v Wexford preview

Updated: January 7, 2012

Both Meath and Wexford will field new look sides for this Sunday’s O’Byrne Cup opener at Pairc Tailteann.

While Wexford manager Jason Ryan had the luxury of opting for an experimental line up there was no real choice for his counterpart Seamus McEnamy who has a long list of injured players knocking on the physio’s door.

Friday’s scan on Jamie Queeney is expected to confirm that the half forward suffered a broken jaw in Tuesdays challenge win over Cavan meaning he will be out for the foreseeable future.

Meath will also have to make do without regulars like Joe Sheridan, Stephen Bray, Cian Ward, Kevin Reilly and Shane O’Rourke with O Rourke scheduled for surgery to correct a long term back problem.

Reilly is still rehabbing the Achilles injury he picked up in the International rules series against Australia but McEnamey will be boosted by the news that Ward and Bray could return to full training this week.

For Wexford there are also some tales of injury woe. Corner back Joey Wadding, Midfielder Brendan Doyle and Ciaran Lyng are all unavailable with injury while Colm Morris is also unavailable for selection

Ben Brosnan and PJ Banville have both been given starts in the forward line as Ryan looks to get his side off to a fast start to a long season.

The big stir in Meath is the news that Graham Geraghty who returned in last summer’s Championship following a three year retirement will rejoin the squad this year once he recovers from the Achilles injury that sidelined him last year.

Prior to his return Geraghty had been serving as one of the selectors in the McEnamey regime which was a disappointment last year.

Meath narrowly avoided relegation to division 3 in the league before succumbing to Kildare in the Championship and will be looking even at this early stage to lay down a marker and build on it.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>