Longford edge out Meath after extra time

Updated: March 10, 2011

Longford 0-17 Meath 2-9

Longford caused the biggest shock of the night in the Leinster Under-21 football championship when they defeated Meath after extra-time at Pairc Tailteann on Wednesday night.

The visitors were much the better side in the opening period of normal time and Meath could only manage a lucky goal from Mark Battersby. The underdogs led by 0-8 to 1-0 at the interval. Meath hit back with three unanswered points early in the second half and with Andrew Tormey in tremendous form from placed balls the hosts eventually went in front after 56 minutes. Indeed it took a late point from Robbie Smith to save Longford and send the match to extra time.

Longford then added further scores early in the added period and led 0-16 to 2-8 at the changeover. Meath’s second goal came from an Andrew Tormey spotkick. However, the goal proved to be a mere consolation for the Royals as Longford held out for a well deserved victory.

Longford – P Columb; J Carroll, F Battrim, A Quinn; S Mahon, C Smith, D Cooney; K Diffley, J Keegan (0-3); P McCormack, P Gill (0-4), P Reynolds; J McGivney (0-1), D Gallagher, JJ Matthews (0-4). Subs: R Smith (0-4, 2 frees) for Reynolds (17 mins), M Mulvey (0-1) for Gallagher (28 mins), F Reilly for Mahon (50 mins), P Devine for Carroll (56 mins), D Gallagher for Keegan (77 mins), C Keegan for Matthews (80 mins).

Meath – C McHugh; C McPartland, S Curran, W Ryan; D Keogan, C Lenehan (0-1), M O’Sullivan (0-1); B Menton, J Owens; P Gilsenan (0-1), D Smyth (0-1), D Larkin; A Tormey (1-4, 1-0 pen, 0-4 frees), N Murphy, M Battersby (1-0). Subs: S Dalton (0-1) for Larkin (39 mins), S Gillespie for Owens (43 mins), W Carry for Murphy (52), C Devereaux for Battersby (56), S Tobin for Smyth (start extra-time).

Referee – P Knell (Louth).

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>