Laois v Armagh preview & team news

Updated: March 18, 2012

Laois host Armagh in Portlaoise on Sunday in the Allianz Football League Division 1.


The counties have endured a difficult start to their league campaigns, with Armagh sitting in sixth and Laois in seventh.

Laois began their league season with a six point loss at home to Mayo, but beat Donegal 2-9 to 2-6 in Letterkenny in week two. The Leinster side have since lost to Dublin and Cork by five and ten points respectively.

Armagh started the campaign promisingly, earning a 0-10 to 1-7 draw at home to Cork and surprisingly beating Kerry away by a score line of 2-8 to 0-10. The Orchard County have since endured two miserable weeks, as they lost 0-11 to 1-14 to Mayo and were outplayed by a rampant Dublin, who won by 4-17 to 1-10.

Both teams will be looking to bounce back from last week’s disappointing results. Armagh found themselves down 2-3 to 0-1 within ten minutes and were behind 3-7 to 0-5 at the break. The Armagh defence failed to slow down Dublin’s attack throughout the match, with Diarmuid Connolly scoring 3-3.

Laois bring Declan McKenna into their midfield, with forwards Padraig Clancy and David Conway missing out through injury.

Armagh have made four changes to the team that lost to Dublin last weekend. Full back Brendan Donaghy is replaced by Declan McKenna and Gavin McParland starts at corner forward. Peter Carragher and former Mayo forward Billy Joe Padden will make up the midfield partnership.


Laois: 1. Eoin Culliton (Timahoe), 2. Cahir Healy (Portlaoise), 3. Kieran Lillis (Portlaoise), 4. Peter O’Leary (O’Dempsey’s), 5. Darren Strong (Emo), 6. Kevin Meaney (Arles-Kilcruise), 7. Conor Boyle (Portlaoise), 8. Brendan Quigley (Timahoe), 9. John O’Loughlin (St Brigid’s), 10. Ross Munnelly (Arles-Kilcruise), 11. Colm Begley (Parnells), 12. Paul Cahillane (Portlaoise), 13. MJ Tierney (Parnells), 14. Adrian Kelly (Portlaoise), 15. Billy Sheehan (Emo)

Armagh: 1. Philip McEvoy, 2. Andy Mallon, 3. Declan McKenna, 4. Finnian Moriarty, 5. Kevin Dyas, 6. Ciaran McKeever, 7. Paul Duffy, 8. Billy Joe Padden, 9. Peter Carragher, 10. Aidan Forker, 11. Colm Watters, 12. Anto Duffy, 13. Caolan Rafferty, 14. Brian Mallon, 15. Gavin McParland

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>