Waterford name McGrath and Cullinane as selectors

Updated: March 27, 2012

Ken McGrath and Sean Cullinane were ratified as selectors for the Waterford senior hurling team last night after a meeting of the county board.

The former inter-county players replace former selectors Nicky Cashin and Brother Philip Ryan, who left their posts last week.

McGrath and Cullinane were the only candidates at a special meeting of the county board last night and both were approved without any objections.

The pair were proposed by Munster Council representative Anthony Walsh and seconded by West Divisional Board chairman Eddie Cunningham.

McGrath and Cullinane were nominated by their respective clubs Mount Sion and Passage East and the pair will now be given two-year contracts.

The Irish Examiner reported that board chairman Tom Cunningham gave no reason for Cashin’s and Br. Ryan’s decisions to stand down.

He said: “That has been their decision, and now it’s time for us as a county board to fill the vacancies and move on from the undoubted hope and encouragement last Sunday’s thrilling victory over Galway has given us.’’

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>