Connacht club football: Ballaghaderreen beat Curry

Updated: November 11, 2012
Gaelic football

Connacht senior football semi-finals: Ballaghadereen (Mayo) 1-15 1-07 Curry (Sligo), McHale Park FT

Click here for all of Sunday’s GAA results



This Connacht semi-final pits Mayo champions Ballaghaderreen against Sligo kingpins Curry in Castlebar. Ballaghaderreen were not expected to overcome three-in-a-row-seeking Ballintubber in the Mayo county final.

Click here to follow all Sunday’s GAA action with our live score commentary

However, Ballaghderreen showed they were no pushovers and collect their second title in five years and enter the game against Curry high on confidence and favourites to win.

Curry’s last major foray in the Connacht Championship came back in 2003, when they were beaten by three points in the provincial final by eventual All-Ireland champions Caltra.

Curry has Sligo stars Adrian Marren and David Maye as their main scoring threats but it’s the Mayo team that have a more complete team. Ballaghaderreen are relative newcomers at this level and will be hungry to make an impression.

Verdict: Ballaghderreen

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>