GAA: IDM Future Champions Teams Named

Updated: March 24, 2014

Comhairle Ardoideachais and the Irish Daily Mail are delighted to announce the Irish Daily Mail Future Champions Teams of the 2014 Irish Daily Mail Higher Education Championships.
St.Patrick’s College (Drumcondra), Cavan Institute & The Cadet College also claimed Irish Daily Mail Football Championships while NUI Maynooth, IT Tallaght & Robert Gordon University (Aberdeen) were successful in the Irish Daily Mail Senior Hurling competitions.After two memorable weekends in Belfast hosted by Queen’s University as part of the Queen’s GAA Festival, UCC were victorious by the narrowest of margins over UUJ in the Irish Daily Mail Sigerson Cup final while WIT re-claimed the Irish Daily Mail Fitzgibbon Cup for the first time since 2008 after defeating CIT in the final.

Both of the premier competition champions are well represented on their respective teams (UCC (8), WIT(6)), while losing finalists UUJ(4) and CIT (4) also make a significant contribution. In terms of counties, Cork and Kerry both have the most representatives on the football team (4 each) while in the hurling Cork are prominent once again with 4 selections, the most of any county.

Those selected will be honoured at a function on the evening of Monday April 14.


Irish Daily Mail Gaelic Football Future Champions 2014

1. Brian Kelly (UCC/Kerry)
2. Barry Tierney (UUJ/Tyrone)
3. David Culhane (UCC/Cork)
4. Fergal McNamara (UCC/Kerry)
5. Tom Clancy (UCC/Cork)
6. Conor Dorman (UCC/Cork)
7. Luke Keaney (UUJ/Donegal)
8. Niall McKeever (UUJ/Antrim)
9. Ian McGuire (UCC/Cork)
10. Diarmuid Murtagh (St. Pat’s/Roscommon)
11. Ronan O’Neill (UUJ/Tyrone)
12. John Heslin (UCD/Westmeath)
13. Paul Geaney (UCC/Kerry)
14. Paddy McBrearty (NUIM/Donegal)
15. Conor Cox (UCC/Kerry)


Irish Daily Mail Hurling Future Champions 2014

1. Aaron Murphy (LIT/Limerick)
2. Alan Dempsey (LIT/Limerick)
3. David Glynn (UCC/Kilkenny)
4. Tomás Lawrence (CIT/Cork)
5. Eoin Keane (CIT/Cork)
6. Eoin Murphy (WIT/Kilkenny)
7. Thomas Hamill (WIT/Tipperary)
8. Stephen Roche (WIT/Waterford)
9. John Cronin (CIT/Cork)
10. John O’Dwyer (CIT/Tipperary)
11. Pauric Mahoney (WIT/Waterford)
12. Harry Kehoe (WIT/Wexford)
13. Conor Lehane (UCC/Cork)
14. Jake Dillon (WIT/Waterford)
15. Paul Winters (NUIM/Dublin)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>