Milltown Castlemaine win Munster title

Updated: December 12, 2011

Kerry club Milltown-Castlemaine won the Munster Intermediate championship when they defeated Tipperary’s Mullinahone in Mallow on Sunday afternoon.

The men from the kingdom were always in control of the game and never really looked like losing. Damien Murphy led by example, while forwards Jerome Flynn and Gavin Wrenn, helped the sie reach the All-Ireland semi-final.

Mullinahone were led by intercounty hurler Eoin Kelly and Adrian Doheny.

The winners scored eight points without response to lead by 0-10 to 0-2 at the interval. They continued to dominate after the restart and Mullinahone’s frustration was evident as three men saw red late on.

Scorers — Milltown-Castlemaine: I Twiss 0-5 (2f), D Flynn 1-2, G Wrenn, D Twiss (3f) 0-3 each, S Murphy 0-1. Mullinahone: P Kelly 0-3 (3f), Doheny 0-2 (2f); N Curran 0-1.

Milltown Castlemaine – J Daly; J Blennerhassett, D Murphy, K McKenna; P Carroll, M Mangan, J O’Connor; M Burke, B Delaney; J Flynn, S Murphy, G Wrenn; C Moriarty, C Kerins, I Twiss. Subs: D Kelliher for Mangan (38), P Wrenn for Carroll (47), D Twiss for Wrenn (50), N Wrenn for O’Connor (55), J Hayes for Murphy (58).

Mullinahone- M Lonergan; K Vaughan, M Costello, B Tracey; K Walzer, N Curran, J Connolly; A Curran, S Curran; E O’Meara, E Kelly, E Fennelly; P Kelly, AJ Cronin, A Doheny. Subs: N Cronin for O’Meara (42), P O’Shea for Fennelly (42), G Cronin for Doheny (42).

Ref — M Condon (Waterford)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>