O’Byrne Cup draw: Fixtures and new-look format

Updated: November 19, 2012
o'byrne cup gaa

Details of next year’s O’Byrne Cup have been released after the draw took place


The competition will be played on a league basis – with four groups of four teams competing before the knock-out stages. Five Third Level Colleges are included while Kilkenny have opted not to take part.

The draws, dates, venues are listed below.

The four group winners will qualify for the semi-finals. The O’Byrne Shield Competition has been discontinued.

Group A

Sunday 6 January 2013
Longford v Meath, Longford
Louth v UCD, Drogheda

Wednesday 9 January 2013
Meath v Louth, Navan
UCD v Longford, Killoe

Sunday 13 January 2013
Meath v UCD, Navan
Louth v Longford, Drogheda

Group B

Sunday 6 January 2013
Carlow v Dublin, Carlow
Wicklow v DCU, Aughrim

Wednesday 9 January 2013
Dublin v DCU, Parnell Park
Wicklow v Carlow, Aughrim

Sunday 13 January 2013
Dublin v Wicklow, Parnell Park
Carlow v DCU, Carlow

Group C

Sunday 6 January 2013
Offaly v Laois, Tullamore
Westmeath v AIT, Mullingar

Wednesday 9 January 2013
Laois v Westmeath, Portlaoise
Offaly v AIT, Gracefield

Sunday 13 January 2013
Westmeath v Offaly, Mullingar
Laois v AIT, Portlaoise

Group D

Sunday 6 January 2013
Wexford v DIT, Wexford
Kildare v Carlow IT, Newbridge

Wednesday 9 January 2013
Wexford v Carlow IT, Bellefield
Kildare v DIT, Kildare

Sunday 13 January 2013
Kildare v Wexford, Newbridge
Carlow IT v DIT, Carlow IT

Sunday 20 January 2013

Sunday 27 January 2013

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>