UCD prove far too strong for NUIG

Updated: March 4, 2011

UCD 0-18 NUIG 2-3

UCD booked their place in the Sigerson Cup semi finals with an easy win over NUIG in the evening quarter-final at Belfield.

The home side were fast off the mark and with John Heslin and John O’Loughlin their star performers, the quickly opened up a 0-5 to 0-2 lead. NUIG briefly stemmed the floodgates when they hit a goal courtesy of Neil Douglas, but UCD resumed where they left off and added further points to establish a 0-11 to 1-2 halftime lead.

The Dublin side added five points without reply immediately after the restart, with O’Loughlin, Ciaran Lyng and Rob Kelly all finding the target. NUIG went a full 34 minutes without adding to their tally before they eventually got back on the scoreboard through Mark McHugh. However, Ciaran cancelled that out straight away and while Greg Higgins hit a late consolation goal for NUIG, the hosts were out of sight by that stage.

Scorers – UCD: J O’Loughlin 0-4 each, J Heslin, R Kelly (1f), C Lyng (2f) 0-3 each, D Kingston, M Fitzsimmons, C Kenny, J Fitzpatrick, K McGourty 0-1 each. NUIG: N Douglas, G Higgins 1-0 each, J Doherty 0-2, M McHugh 0-1.

UCD – M Savage; J Hayes, C Forde, M Fitzsimmons; M McGowan, S Redmond, J Fitzpatrick; J Heslin, C Murphy; C Kenny, J O’Loughlin, K McGourty; C Lyng, D Kingston, R Kelly. Subs: C Dyas for Kenny (22), D St Ledger for Kingston (42), T Warburton for Fitzsimmons (50), M Brasil for McGourty (54), M Coughlan for O’Loughlin (56).

NUIG – N King; C McDonald, K O’Connor, R Rochford; K Conlon, P Gardiner, J Moore; S Gilmartin, D Coroon; B Geraghty, A Dillon, A Mullin; N Douglas, F Deasmhunaigh, J Doherty. Subs: G Higgins for Coroon (36), C Mimnagh for Douglas (38), S McHale for Moore (40), S McWeeney for McDonald (48), M McHugh for Mullin (50).

Referee – J McQuillan (Cavan).

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>