Heineken Cup News: Connacht Rugby team to play Toulouse (Kick Off 6pm)

Updated: December 13, 2013

Connacht Rugby Head Coach Pat Lam has named his side for the return leg of the back-to-back fixtures against Stade Toulousa in this weekend.

Lam has made three starting XV changes to the team that defeated the four-time European champions 16 – 14 last weekend. All these changes come in the pack as Connacht look to record three consecutive wins for the first time in their Heineken Cup history.

Jason Harris-Wright and Rodney Ah You come in to the front row in place of Sean Henry and Nathan White. Galway-man Eoin McKeon has been named to start at Number 8 in a back row with John Muldoon and Jake Heenan.

In the backs, 20-year-old Irish international Robbie Henshaw is at fullback while Dan Parks and try-scorer Kieran Marmion make up the half back pairing.

Commenting on the team selection and the upcoming game, Head Coach Pat Lam said:

“Our week was certainly disrupted with an outbreak of the flu affecting twelve of our squad members. We had to curtail the session yesterday and were restricted in what we could do. But these things are out of control and thankfully a lot of the guys are feeling better today after some rest.

“We’ve made some changes to the pack after what was a hugely physical game last week. Unfortunately we lost Michael Swift to injury but we have the experience of Andrew (Browne) returning to the match squad this week.

“Last weekend’s game was the biggest challenge we faced as a team, and we overcame that, but now we’re up against another massive challenge. We’re playing a vengeful Toulouse who will come here determined to turn around last week’s defeat.

“Like everyone we want the win, but as with every game our focus is on the process of winning the game. It’s going to be an fantastic atmosphere with the Sportsground sold out and I know that will only add to the occasion and drive the team on.”

Connacht line-up v Toulouse
15. Robbie Henshaw
14. Fionn Carr
13. Eoin Griffin
12. Dave McSharry
11. Matt Healy
10. Dan Parks
9. Kieran Marmion

1. Brett Wilkinson
2. Jason Harris-Wright
3. Rodney Ah You
4. Mick Kearney
5. Craig Clarke (captain)
6. John Muldoon
7. Jake Heenan
8. Eoin McKeon

16. Sean Henry
17. Denis Buckley
18. Nathan White
19. Andrew Browne
20. George Naoupu
21. Frank Murphy
22. Craig Ronaldson
23. Gavin Duffy

Unavailable/Injured: Michael Swift, Ronan Loughney, Willie Faloon, Mata Fifita, Danie Poolman, Tiernan O’Halloran, Miah Nikora, and Kyle Tonetti.

Connacht v Toulouse
Saturday 14th December
At the Sportsground
Kick off 6pm
On Sky Sports 2 Red Button
Referee: Leighton Hodges (WRU)
Assistant Refs: Gwyn Morris & Chris Williams (both WRU)
TMO: Paul Adams (WRU)
Citing Commissioner: Dennis Jones (WRU)

2013/14 Heineken Cup Outright

Leinster 10/3

Toulon 4/1

Clermont Auvergne 5/1

Toulouse 6/1

Ulster 7/1

Saracens 10/1

Munster 14/1

Leicester Tigers 18/1

Harlequins 40/1

Northampton Saints 66/1

80/1 Bar

EW 1/2 1, 2

Luck of The Irish

Any Irish Team To Win the 2013/14 Heineken Cup - 13-10  


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>