“This is a huge opportunity for the Irish team” – Niamh Briggs on Women’s Rugby World Cup 2017

Updated: April 14, 2017
Ireland women's captain Niamh Briggs

The Ireland Women have been drawn into Pool C alongside Six Nations rivals France, who defeated Ireland in the 3rd/4th place play-off at the 2014 tournament, as well as the Australian Wallaroos and Asia/Oceania 1, which will be the winners of a round robin tournament between Fiji, Japan and Hong Kong.

Speaking about the draw, Ireland Women’s captain Niamh Briggs said: “This is a huge opportunity for the Irish team. We’ve been drawn with France who we know well from the Six Nations, as well as Australia and then one of Fiji, Japan or Hong Kong, so we’ll be looking forward to the challenge of taking on those teams in UCD in nine months’ time.”

Canada have been drawn in Pool A with New Zealand, Wales and the runners-up of the Asia/Oceania round robin. While Pool B will see defending champions England battle it out with the USA and Italy and either Spain or Scotland, who will play off for the final spot.

World Rugby Chairman Bill Beaumont said: “The last Women’s Rugby World Cup in France was a watershed moment for the Women’s game, with record crowds and massive TV audiences watching across the world.

“There are some fantastic matches in store in August and, with over two million women and girls currently playing the sport, I have no doubt that next year’s Women’s Rugby World Cup in Dublin and Belfast will be a fantastic event and encourage many more ladies to get involved with the sport.”

The competition will run from August 9th-26th 2017, with the pool games taking place in University College Dublin between August 9th and 17th and the play-off games and finals set to be played in Belfast at Queen’s University and Kingspan Stadium.


Pool A

Pool B

Pool C




New Zealand






Asia/Oceania 2

Europe 1

Asia/Oceania 1

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>