Ulster team named to play Zebre on Sunday, Kick off 2pm

Updated: November 16, 2012
david humphreys ulster rugby

Ulster has made five personnel changes for the RaboDirect PRO12 showdown with Zebre this Sunday (Stadio XXV Aprile, 2.00pm GMT)

Ulster are 8/1 to win the Heineken Cup with Boylesports, click here for your 20e free bet

Ireland props Tom Court and Declan Fitzpatrick have been released from international duty and have been named on the bench.

Half backs Michael Heaney and Niall O’Connor have been included in the starting line up in place of Paul Marshall and Ruan Pienaar, both of whom are on international duty this weekend. Jared Payne will continue at outside centre alongside Paddy Wallace, after scoring a brace of tries in a very impressive performance against Edinburgh earlier this month.

Michael Allen returns to the team for the first time since picking up an ankle injury against Cardiff in September. His inclusion on the right wing results in Chris Cochrane switching to the left flank in place of Ireland XV player Craig Gilroy. Academy fullback Ricky Andrew will earn his second start.

The front row of Callum Black, John Afoa and Nigel Brady remains, with the latter continuing as captain in the absence of Johann Muller. Robbie Diack – usually a back row player – will come into the second row after Lewis Stevenson’s injury. He will be partnered at lock by Neil McComb. The back row sees Nick Williams elevated to the starting team at blindside flanker, while Mike McComish and Roger Wilson retain their places at openside and number 8 respectively.

Court and Fitzpatrick are joined on the bench by hooker Rob Herring, Academy second row James Simpson and Ali Birch, who is yet to play this season. The backline replacements are all products of the Ulster Academy; Blane McIlroy, Stuart Olding and Peter Nelson.

Ulster team & replacements to face Zebre, RaboDirect PRO12, Sunday 18th November, Stadio XXV Aprile (2.00pm GMT):
(15-9): R Andrew; M Allen, J Payne, P Wallace, C Cochrane; N O’Connor, M Heaney;
(1-8): C Black, N Brady (capt), J Afoa, R Diack, N McComb, N Williams, M McComish, R Wilson;
Replacements (16-23): R Herring, T Court, D Fitzpatrick, J Simpson, A Birch, B McIlroy, S Olding, P Nelson.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>