Galway & District League clinch FAI Umbro Youth Inter-League Cup

Updated: April 28, 2014

GALWAY & District League clinched the FAI Umbro Youth Inter League Cup after a tense 1-0 victory over Wexford Football League at Ferrycarrig Park this afternoon.


Wexford’s dreamt of retaining the titles but Padraic Cunningham’s early goal proved to be the winner for Galway.


Galway had lost out to Wexford in the 2007 final which was also played at Ferrycarrig Park and last season the visitors suffered the disappointment of losing out to Mick Larkin’s team at the semi-final stage.


But on this occasion they emerged victorious after thwarting Wexford’s best efforts and added the 2014 Youth Inter League title to their only other victory in the competition in 2010.


WEXFORD FOOTBALL LEAGUE: Dylan Owens, Sean Burke, Ryan Mahon, Naomhan Rossiter, Donnacha O’Connor, Adam Prendergast, Ethan Boyle, Dylan Redmond, Ryan Delaney, Eoin Rhodes, Mikey Rowe. Subs: Tony Smith (for O’Connor inj. 9), Richard Kearney (for Redmond 74), Emmett Daniels, Kamil Kutkiewicz, Shane Franklin (for Prendergast 84), Jessy Farrell, Gary Murphy.


GALWAY & DISTRICT LEAGUE: Peter Healy, Gary Baily, Gary Kinneen, Paul Healy, Rob Carroll, Aran McConnell, Joe Hynes, Moisse Assogba, Padraic Cunningham, Peter Walsh, Antaine O’Laoi. Subs: Andrew Connolly (for O’Laoi inj. 10), Jamie Kelly, Shane Hulgraine (for Walsh 84), Ronan Keville, Eoghan Kelly (for McConnell 74), Tommy McClean, Shane Connelly.


Referee: John Dwane.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>