London Marathon results

Updated: April 22, 2012

Mary Keitany of Kenya was first home in this morning’s Virgin London Marathon in a time of 2:18:37  with four more Kenyans immediately behind her.

Keitany’s time was a new personal best and Kenyan record.

Today’s  1,2,3,4,5 for Kenya simply emphasised the huge task faced by runners from other countries when the Olympics take place in London later this year.

Edna Kiplagat finished second, some 1min  32sec  behind Keitany  with Priscah Jeptu  third.

The men’s crown went to another Kenyan, Wilson Kipsang, competing in his first Virgin London Marathon.

Kipsang, who had  already won  the Frankfurt Marathon  beat compatriot  Martin Lel  who came second place whilst Ethiopia’s Tsegaye Kebede finished third.

Kipsang’s winning time was  2:04:44 with Lel some 2min :07 secs behind.

The men’s wheelchair title went once again, for a London Marathon  record equalling sixth  year, to Great Britain’s  David Weir

The 32-year-old won a sprint finish in 1:32:23, equalling Baroness Tanni Grey-Thompson’s record, in the women’s event.

“This is my favourite win ever because the field was so strong,” Weir told BBC Radio 5 live sport.

On his future, after the Paralympics Weir told the BBC “I’ve got an eight-month-old baby boy, I’ve got another one on the way in October, so I need a bit of time at home.”

“There’s not a lot of goals left. I’ll definitely take a year out after the Paras because I want to spend some time with my family.”

Victory  in the women’s wheelchair event to another of Great Britain’s  Paralympic hopefuls,  26 years years old ,Shelley Woods  who with some three minutes to spare

over Japan’s Wakako Tsuchida, with Canada’s  Diane Roy in third.

“I’m really happy,” Woods said. “I can’t believe it.

“To win a Paralympic gold medal is my ambition as an athlete. If I could do it in London would be amazing.”

Results and Times here:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>