Prestigious Award For Badminton Ireland

Updated: May 3, 2012

Badminton Ireland has won a prestigious international award for its efforts to increase the participation of women and girls in the sport at all levels.

The award for an outstanding project relating to ‘Women in Badminton’ was one of two awarded by Badminton Europe at its annual meeting, held during last week’s European Badminton Championships in Karlskrona, Sweden.

The Women in Sport project, headed by Richard Vaughan and Cheryl Evans from Ireland was selected as the prize winner. The project, in partnership with the Irish Sports Council, focuses on supporting women in badminton as player, coach, sport coordinator, and technical official.
Badminton Ireland Chief Executive , and project leader, Richard Vaughan received the award

With her involvement in actions to attract more girls to start playing badminton, and as a former elite player herself, Johanna Persson of Sweden was awarded the Person of the Year prize.

Meantime. with the European Circuit drawing to a close with the final event in Denmark, Ireland’s Chloe and Sam Magee top the European Mixed doubles rankings after a series of fine performances towards the end of 2011.
The pair now wait anxiously as they wait on the Olympic qualification list which will be published tomorrow (Wednesday).

In ladies singles, Chloe Magee after a great season has been beaten to the top of the rankings by Germany’s Olga Konon and Holland’s Judith Meulendijk, finishing third.
Some solid performances by Scott Evans of late have seen him climb to sixth in the European Rankings, which hopefully should be enough to see him secure a place in London 2012.

Fine results this season by Tony Stephenson and Sinead Chambers have added them to top 50 in men’s singles (46) and mixed doubles (34).
Overall a great set of performances by the Irish players who will now all be waiting for that first Olympic qualification list tomorrow

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>