Paralympics Ireland announces team for Euros

Updated: May 11, 2012

Irish Team named for IPC Athletics European Championships in Holland

Paralympics Ireland has announced the team that will compete at the IPC Athletics European Championships in Staadskanal,Holland which takes place between the 23-29thJune.  This is the last major Paralympic track and field event before the London 2012 Paralympic Games get underway on the 29th August.

The team of 8 athletes includes Ray O’Dwyer, Ailish Dunne, Nadine Lattimore, Lorraine Regan, Orla Barry, Catherine O’Neill, Eoin Cleare, and James McCarthy.

Catherine O’Neill is the reigning F51 discus world champion and competed at the Paralympic Games in Sydney 2000 and Beijing 2008. Catherine will be competing in both the club and discuss events at the European Championships.

Orla Barry, who competes in the Discus and Javelin, set a new European record for the Discuss last year and will be targeting a podium finish at both the European Championships and the Paralympic Games.

The Team will be lead by James Nolan, the Head of Paralympics Athletics and he will be supported by a backroom team that includes Pat Furlong, Michael Bergin, Pamela Blanche, Stephanie Foley and Fintan O’Donnell.

James Nolan, commented, “We are sending a strong team to the European Championships and there are a number of athletes travelling who will be aiming for podium finishes.  For all of the team the Championships represent another great opportunity to gain further top level competition experience ahead of the Paralympic Games in September.”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>