Ireland v Barbarians, Live scores from 7.45pm

Updated: May 29, 2012
Ronan O'Gara

Ireland will take on a Barbarians side for the fourth time in their history in the not so unusual surroundings of Kingsholm, home of English Premier side Gloucester rugby, (kick off 7.45pm)

Back in 2008, the Irish side recorded their first over win over the Baa-Baa’s running out 39-14 win over and Declan Kidney will be hoping that the ground proves to be a lucky omen as he assesses his back up options ahead of the trip to New Zealand.

Click here for score updates from the game

Kidney has named an experimental Irish line up for the clash with Munster star Ronan O’Gara captaining a side which features the emerging talents of Craig Gilroy, Darren Cave, Simon Zebo and Peter O’Mahoney

Munster’s Keith Earls will line out at full back while Conor Murray will partner O’Gara in the half back line.

Dan Tuohy and Donnacha Ryan will form a new second-row partnership while experienced club campaigners Chris Henry, John Muldoon, Brett Wilkinson, Mike Sherry and Ulster prop Declan Fitzpatrick all get a chance to show their international credentials

A strong looking Barbarians side meanwhile will be captained by recently retired Munster legend Mick O’Driscoll and will contain the likes of French stars Cedric Heymans and Damien Traille as well as former England captain Mike Tindall.

Ireland’s Leinster stars will be reunited with former out half Felipe Contepomi while current Blue Isa Nacewa is on the bench.

Team Line up’s:

Ireland: 15 Keith Earls, 14 Craig Gilroy, 13 Darren Cave, 12 Paddy Wallace, 11 Simon Zebo, 10 Ronan O’Gara, 9 Conor Murray, 8 Peter O’Mahony, 7 Chris Henry, 6 John Muldoon, 5 Donnacha Ryan, 4 Dan Tuohy, 3 Declan Fitzpatrick, 2 Mike Sherry, 1 Brett Wilkinson.

Replacements: 16 Rory Best, 17 Ronan Loughney, 18 Donncha O’Callaghan, 19 James Coughlan, 20 Paul Marshall, 21 Nevin Spence, 22 Andrew Trimble.

Barbarians: 15 Cedric Heymans, 14 Paul Sackey, 13 Mike Tindall, 12 Damien Traille, 11 Sailosi Tagicakibau, 10 Felipe Contepomi, 9 Rory Lawson, 8 Raphael Lakafia, 7 Francois Louw, 6 Mamuka Gorgodze, 5 Cornelius Van Zyl, 4 Mick O’Driscoll (capt), 3 John Afoa, 2 Benoit August, 1 Duncan Jones.

Replacements: 16 Aled de Malmanche, 17 Neemia Tialata, 18 Pelu Taele, 19 Akapusi Qera, 20 Richie Rees, 21 Stephen Donald, 22 Isa Nacewa.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>