Mayo hand debuts to three players

Updated: June 21, 2012

Mayo has announced their starting fifteen to face Leitrim in the Connacht Senior football Championship semi-final this Sunday and it sees three changes to the team that lost out to Cork in the Division 1 final in April.

Visit our Partner site for the latest Euro 2012 odds, tips and betting

Conor Mortimer is the big-name player to miss out on a starting berth as manager James Horan gives three players their championship debuts. Westport duo of Kevin Keane and Lee Keegan are newcomers on the right flank of defense and Danny Geraghty will partner Barry Moran at midfield. Keegan did feature for Mayo last year appearing as a substitute in the All-Ireland quarter final against Cork and semi-final against Kerry.

Jason Gibbons and Michael Conroy are the other players to lose out from the league final loss. Cillian O’Connor has the unusual starting position of centre-forward with Andy Moran moving to full-forward in a re-shuffled forward line.

MAYO SF: D Clarke (Ballina Stephenites); K Keane (Westport), G Cafferkey (Ballina Stephenites), K Higgins (Ballyhaunis); L Keegan (Westport), D Vaughan (Ballinrobe), C Boyle (Davitts); B Moran (Castlebar Mitchels), D Geraghty (Ballintubber); K McLoughlin (Knockmore), C O’Connor (Ballintubber), A Dillon (Ballintubber); A Freeman (Aghamore), A Moran (Ballaghadereen), J Doherty (Burrishoole).

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>