Cork v Tipperary: Live score commentary

Updated: June 24, 2012
lar corbett

We have live score commentary from Cork v Tipperary in the Munster SHC semi final, 4pm Sunday 24th June, Pairc Ui Chaoimh


Cork v Tipperary preview

Munster SHC Semi-Final, Sunday 24th June, Páirc Uí Chaoimh, 4pm

Cork and Tipperary will face off in front of a sell-out crowd at Páirc Uí Chaoimh this Sunday as they face each other for the 82nd time in championship hurling and the ninth year in a row.

Indeed, this will be the fourth time this year that the two sides have faced off. Waterford needed extra time before beating the Rebels in the Waterford Crystal Cup semi-final before drawing in the league. Cork got their revenge with a seven point victory in the Division 1A semi-final.

Cork manager, Jimmy Barry-Murphy, has made changes to the side that lost to Kilkenny in the league final by bringing back Martin Coleman in goal and Tom Kenny at right half back. Cathal Naughton replaces the injured Niall McCarthy at wing-forward with Conor O’Sullivan, Jamie Coughlan and Darren Sweetnam also given starting berths.

Patrick Maher comes in for Eoin Kelly in the Tipperary at wing-back with Shane McGrath and Conor O’ Brien also in the starting line-up. Lar Corbett returns to the squad and will join Kelly on the bench.

Cork will give this match a good shot but Tipperary’s class should see them through to the final to face Waterford.

Verdict – Tipperary

Value Bet – Tipperary to win by 1-3 points @ 7/2

Tipperary – Brendan Cummins; Conor O’Brien, Paul Curran, Michael Cahill; Thomas Stapleton, Conor O’Mahony, Padraic Maher; Brendan Maher, Shane McGrath Gearóid Ryan, Patrick Maher, Pa Bourke Brian O’Meara, John O’Brien, Noel McGrath.

Cork – Anthony Nash; Shane O’Neill, Brian Murphy, Conor O’Sullivan; Tom Kenny, Eoin Cadogan, William Egan; Darren Sweetnam, Lorcan McLoughlin; Conor Lehane, Pa Cronin, Cathal Naughton; Jamie Coughlan, Paudie O’Sullivan, Patrick Horgan.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>