Minor Hurling: Galway easily beat Wexford

Updated: July 28, 2012

Galway minor hurling team beat Wexford by fifteen points, 4-20 to 2-11. Galway will play Tipperary in the semi-final



Wexford are appearing in their first quarter-final since 2009 this weekend. They were highly competitive in the Leinster final against Dublin, but were unable to find the scores late in the game to secure victory.

Centre back and team captain Andrew Kenny, midfielder Conor Devitt and number fourteen Conor McDonald are the players that manager Martin Storey will look to for inspiration.

This is essentially the first round for Galway as they don’t compete in a provincial championship. Mattie Murphy has selected a formidable looking side, with several survivors from the 2011 team.

In the central defensive positions Paul Kileen and Sean Sweeney will be expected to lead from the front. In attack Jason Flynn, Ronan O’ Meara and Brian Molloy are the main threats.

Wexford are by no means a poor team but this Galway side looks exceptional. They should advance with a bit to spare.

Verdict: Galway.

Galway: Mike O Conghaile, Daragh O Donoghue, Paul Killeen, Barry Keane, Shane Caulfield, Sean Sweeney, Shane Cooney, Brian Murtagh, Cathal Mannion, Adrian Morrissey, Daragh Dolan, Jason Flynn, Ronan O Meara, Michael Mullins,
Brian Molloy.

Wexford: Oliver O’ Leary, Sean Doyle, Sean Murphy, Eoin Conroy, Liam Ryan, Andrew Kenny, Anthony Roche, James Cash, Conor Devitt, Kevin Foley, Sean Kenny, Jack O’ Connor, Donal Shanley, Conor Mcdonald, Ben O’ Brien.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>