Cian O’Connor helps Ireland to Aga Khan

Updated: August 17, 2012

Cian O’Connor and team mates Darragh Kerins, Richie Moloney and Clem McMahon lead Ireland to the first Aga Khan victory since 2004 in a superb day of jumping at the RDS.

Robert Splaine’s team made the most of their advantageous draw as the last place in the competition order for the day’s jumping which also doubled up as the last round of the 2012 FEI Nations’ Cup Superleague and lifted Ireland out of the relegation zone for next year’s league.

Of the eight teams who competed France and Britain were the ones to beat and O’Connor, fresh from his Olympic bronze, did not disappoint.

Speaking before the final Splaine spoke of the prestige of the event as part of the Discover Ireland Dublin Horse Show.

“The Aga Khan trophy is the most important Nations Cup trophy in the world,” he said.

“Everywhere you go people speak about the nations cup day in Dublin, the whole band, the whole razzmatazz, the whole sporting occasion.”

The 2012 Aga Khan trophy winning team, in jumping order:
Clem McMahon/Pacino
Richie Moloney/Ahorn Van De Zuuthoeve
Darragh Kerins/Lisona (ISH)
Cian O’Connor/Blue Loyd

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>