Times and venues for GAA football qualifiers

Updated: June 27, 2011

The highlight of round two of the all-Ireland qualifiers will take place at Pairc Tailteann in Navan after the CCCC announced the times and venues for the fixtures.

Home advantage is Meath’s prize after their demolition of Louth on Saturday. They will host Galway in another evening fixture on Saturday July 9th.

Three other games have also been pencilled in for a 7pm kick off. Mick O’Dwyer’s Wicklow must travel across the border to face Armagh at the Morgan Athletic Grounds, while their neighbours and rivals, Tyrone will travel south to meet Longford.

Kildare’s trip to Portlaoise will complete the quartet of evening throw-ins. However, many with an eye for qualifier romance will be keeping an eye on the 6pm start in Ruislip. Perennial minnows London and Waterford will be looking forward to an unprecedented place in the third round of the draw.

The earlier start times will occupy the east coast of Ulster as Antrim kick off the proceeedings in Belfast against Carlow and Leitrim must face the All Ireland finalists in Newry.

The only fixture yet to be decided is the meeting of Limerick and Offaly. The Gaelic Grounds is likely to host the game but the throw in time has been held back as the match could form part of a double header should the Munster side’s hurlers come through a qualifier with Wexford next weekend.

Saturday 9 July

Limerick v Offaly TBC

Antrim v Carlow, Casement Park, 2pm

Armagh v Wicklow, Morgan Athletic Grounds, 7pm

Down v Leitrim, Newry, 3pm

Laois v Kildare, Portlaoise, 7pm

London v Waterford, Ruislip, 6pm

Longford v Tyrone, Pearse Park, 7pm

Meath v Galway, Navan, 7pm

Follow SportNewsIRE on Twitter

Powered by Disqus

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>