Kieran McGeeney questions officials decision

By
Updated: August 2, 2011

Kildare boss Kieran McGeeney has hit out at match officials, as they once again cost his side a place in the All-Ireland series.

On Saturday evening,the Lilywhites scored what appeared to be a perfectly legal goal in their qualifier against Donegal, but it was ruled out as the officials in charge decided that the player was in the square before the ball. McGeeney pointed out that the rules were not broken and the score should have been allowed to stand:

“I am just fed up to the teeth talking about it. Every child knows (the rule). Unless that rule has changed, has it? What is the point in talking about it? This is my fourth year in a row talking about it, eventually people just get sick of hearing me talk about it. To be honest, I am sick of talking about it.”

The former Armagh star admitted that he wonders if referees sometimes take it out on him, as he has been critical of officials in the past:

“It’s hard for me because sometimes I wonder is it my personality that seems to have an effect on officialdom.It is difficult to comprehend. I know most of these fellows and the uniform goes on them they seem to become supermen. What can you do?”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

*

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>