Russia name squad to face Ireland

Updated: August 19, 2011

Head coach of the Russian national team Dick Advocaat today announced the players called up for the Euro 2012 qualifying matches against Macedonia and Ireland. The Russia team which beat Serbia 1-0 in a friendly last week has been retained in a 20-man squad for 2012 European Championship qualifiers in September.

Goalkeepers: Igor Akinfeev (CSKA Moscow), Vyacheslav Malafeev (Zenit St. Petersburg).

Defenders: Alexander Anyukov (Zenit St. Petersburg), Alexey Berezutsky, Vasily Berezutsky, Sergey Ignashevich (all – CSKA Moscow), Yuri Zhirkov (Anzhi Makhachkala), Roman Shishkin (Lokomotiv Moscow).

Midfielders: Diniyar Bilyaletdinov (Everton), Denis Glushakov, Dmitry Torbinsky (both – Lokomotiv Moscow), Igor Denisov, Konstantin Zyryanov, Roman Shirokov (all – Zenit St. Petersburg), Alan Dzagoev (CSKA Moscow), Igor Semshov (Dynamo Moscow).

Forwards: Andrei Arshavin (Arsenal), Alexander Kerzhakov (Zenit St. Petersburg), Roman Pavlyuchenko (Tottenham Hotspur), Pavel Pogrebnyak (Stuttgart).

Russia will play both matches in Moscow – against Macedonia on September 2 and against Ireland on September 6.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>