Habana gets record as South Africa win

Updated: September 22, 2011

South Africa scored twelve tries against Namibia, they will now top the group and probably play Australia in the quarter finals.

The spring box lead 31-0 at half time and had wrapped up a bonus point at North Harbour Stadium. Winger Bryan Habana broke the Springboks’ all-time try-scoring record with Gio Aplon and Jaque Fourie and a penalty try making up the four tries in the first half.

They scored another eight tries in the second half to win 87-0.

Willem Alberts won the man of match.

More to follow.

South Africa team: Pat Lambie, Gio Aplon, Jaque Fourie, Frans Steyn, Bryan Habana, Morne Steyn, Francois Hougaard; Gurthro Steenkamp, John Smit (captain), CJ Van der Linde, Bakkies Botha, Danie Rossouw, Willem Alberts, Schalk Burger, Pierre Spies.

Replacements: Chiliboy Ralepelle, Tendai Mtawarira, Francois Louw, Heinrich Brussow, Fourie du Preez, Ruan Pienaar, Juan de Jongh.

Namibia team: Chrysander Botha, Danie Dames, Danie van Wyk,Piet van Zyl, Heine Bock, Theuns Kotze, Eugene Jantjies; Johnnie Redelinghuys, Bertus O’Callaghan, Marius Visser, Heinz Koll, Nico Esterhuyse, Tinus Du Plessis, Jacques Burger (captain), Jacques Nieuwenhuis.

Replacements: Hugo Horn, Jane du Toit, Pieter Jan van Lill, Rohan Kitshoff, Ryan de la Harpe, Darryl de la Harpe, Conrad Marais.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>