Aidan Walsh wins Player of the Year

Updated: October 22, 2011

Cork dual star Aidan Walsh has been named the Bord Gais Energy Breaking Through Player of the Year for 2011.

The player won the honour ahead of Galway’s Niall O’Donoghue, Niall Burke and Barry Daly, Dublin captain Liam Rushe and Limerick duo Shane Dowling and Declan Hannon.

The selection panel sided with Walsh following his outstanding performances for Cork throughout the Bord Gais Energy U-21 Munster Hurling Championship.

“I am delighted to accept this award, especially considering the talent I was up against and I would like to congratulate the other lads for their own achievements this year,” Walsh said.

“Unfortunately we were undone in the Munster Final against a very talented Limerick side and we felt we maybe should have won that match but it wasn’t to be.

“There is a huge amount of work going into Cork hurling at underage levels and I’m sure we will be winning All-Irelands at all age groups before long. I’m very honoured to be accepting this award and would like to thank all involved in the selection process.”

Nominated for 2011 Realex Web Awards

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>