Ballinacourty gain revenge on Stradbally

Updated: October 24, 2011

Ballinacourty 0-6 Stradbally 0-5

Ballinacourty gained revenge on Stradbally for last year’s defeat, when they claimed the Waterford senior football championship title at a wet and windy Fraher Field on Sunday.

It was the first title victory for the city club since 2007 and it also prevented the losers from completing an historic three in a row. County star Gary Hurney was the star man for the winners, scoring four points in the opening half to give his side a valuable platform on which to build.

Ballinacourty played with the strong breeze in the opening half and led by 0-6 to 0-0 at the interval. Hurney was the first scorer of the game and he doubled his sides lead soon after. John Gorman made it three points to nil and two frees from Hurney left the side five ahead.Briggs made it six and the game looked all over, but Pat Weldon finally hit back for Stradbally.

Two Niall Curran frees and one from Shane Ahearne reduced the lead to two points with five minutes remaining as Stradbally fought hard to keep their crown. Stephen Cunningham made it a one point game late on and Ballinacourty were hanging on. That was as close as it got however, and the city club held on to claim the title.

Scorers -Ballinacourty: G Hurney 0-4 (3f), J Gorman, S Briggs 0-1 each. Stradbally: N Curran 0-2 (2f), S Cunningham, P Weldon, S Ahearne (f) 0-1 each.

Ballinacourty – S Enright; M Lavan, J Phelan, G Breen; J Hurney, P Lynch, R Foley; S O’Hare, S Briggs; J Gorman, P Hurney, M Fives; J O’Brien, G Hurney, M Ferncombe. Subs: J O’Mahoney for O’Brien (46), C Moloney for Gorman (53), L Hurney for Fives (59).

Stradbally – O Costelloe; P Doyle, K Coffey, T Costelloe; T Grey, E Rockett, A Doyle; M Walsh, J Coffey; P Weldon, S Ahearne, S Lannon; N Curran, R Ahearne, T Connors. Subs: S Cunningham for Connors (h-t), T Curran for Weldon (56).

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>