Zebo comes into Wolfhounds squad

Updated: January 23, 2012

Click here for the latest odds on winning the Six Nations from Betfair

Simon Zebo, who made such a devastating impact for Munster last weekend, has been called into the Irish Wolfhounds squad to face England at the end of this month.

Zebo will replaced Luke Fitzgerald who has failed to recover from the neck injury that has kept him sidelined since St Stephens Day. It had been hoped that the Leinster winger would get some game time against the Saxons ahead of the Six Nations opener against Wales on Sunday week at the Aviva Stadium.

Zebo’s place in the training squad will be taking by Ulster winger Craig Gilroy.

Andrew Conway, another Leinster winger, who was also due to train with the senior squad in Limerick as one of the six additional players, has had to pull out due to injury, with his Leinster team-mate Fionn Carr replacing him in the senior squad.

IRELAND Training Squad (2012 RBS 6 Nations):

Rory Best (Banbridge/Ulster)
Tommy Bowe (Ospreys)
Tom Court (Malone/Ulster)
Sean Cronin (St. Mary’s College/Leinster)
Leo Cullen (Blackrock College/Leinster)
Gordon D’Arcy (Lansdowne/Leinster)
Keith Earls (Young Munster/Munster)
Stephen Ferris (Dungannon/Ulster)
Cian Healy (Clontarf/Leinster)
Jamie Heaslip (Naas/Leinster)
Shane Jennings (St. Mary’s College/Leinster)
Rob Kearney (UCD/Leinster)
Fergus McFadden (Old Belvedere/Leinster)
Conor Murray (Garryowen/Munster)
Sean O’Brien (Clontarf/Leinster)
Donncha O’Callaghan (Cork Constitution/Munster)
Paul O’Connell (Young Munster/Munster)
Ronan O’Gara (Cork Constitution/Munster)
Eoin Reddan (Lansdowne/Leinster)
Mike Ross (Clontarf/Leinster)
Donnacha Ryan (Shannon/Munster)
Jonathan Sexton (St. Mary’s College/Leinster)
Andrew Trimble (Ballymena/Ulster)
Paddy Wallace (Ballymena/Ulster)

Additional Players -

Fionn Carr (Blackrock College/Leinster) *
Craig Gilroy (Dungannon/Ulster) *
Jacl McGrath (St. Mary’s College/Leinster) *
Ian Nagle (Cork Constitution/Munster) *
Peter O’Mahony (Cork Constitution/Munster) *
Tiernan O’Halloran (Galwegians/Connacht) *

O2 IRELAND WOLFHOUNDS Squad (v England Saxons):

Stephen Archer (Cork Constitution/Munster) *
Isaac Boss (Terenure College/Leinster)
Gavin Duffy (Galwegians/Connacht)
Chris Henry (Ballymena/Ulster)
Denis Hurley (Cork Constitution/Munster)
David Kearney (Lansdowne/Leinster) *
Ian Keatley (Young Munster/Munster)
Ronan Loughney (Galwegians/Connacht) *
Ian Madigan (Blackrock College/Leinster) *
Mike McCarthy (Buccaneers/Connacht)
Kevin McLaughlin (St. Mary’s College/Leinster)
John Muldoon (Galwegians/Connacht)
Tomas O’Leary (Dolphin/Munster)
Eoin O’Malley (Old Belvedere/Leinster) *
Rhys Ruddock (St. Mary’s College/Leinster)
Mike Sherry (Garryowen/Munster) *
Nevin Spence (Ballynahinch/Ulster) *
Devin Toner (Lansdowne/Leinster)
Dan Tuohy (Ballymena/Ulster)
Damien Varley (Garryowen/Munster)
Brett Wilkinson (Galwegians/Connacht) *
Simon Zebo (Cork Constitution/Munster) *

Not considered due to injury: Brian O’Driscoll, David Wallace, Darren Cave, Felix Jones, Jerry Flannery, Eoin Griffin *, Denis Leamy, Niall Ronan

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>