Vocational Schools Hurling Final Kilkenny v Galway

Updated: February 11, 2012
All Ireland Senior Vocational Schools Inter-County  Hurling  Final :  Kilkenny v Galway  at Thomastown 14.00 Saturday.11th Feb.


Galway has enjoyed great success in this competition and indeed  achieved a unique eight in a row wins when John Fahy’s team took the crown  in   1980, 1981, 1982, 1983, 1984, 1985, 1986, and  1987.
The road to the 2012  final:

Semi-Final:      Kilkenny 3-12  Limerick 1-12

Kilkenny reached today’s final with a nail biting 3-12 to 1-12 victory over a gallant Limerick side in atrocious weather conditions in Rathkeale last Saturday.

With eight minutes remaining Limerick were two points ahead much to the joy of the home supporters. Then Kilkenny midfielder Willie Brennan struck –  powering through the Limerick defence he reached the 20 metre line and from there unleashed an unstoppable ball to the roof of the Limerick net. That was the crucial score as Mark Russell got a second goal minutes later (from a Conor Martin pass)  to ensure the Cats reached the final against Galway.

Kilkenny scorers – Conor Martin (0-5); Shane Donnelly (1-2); Mark Russell (1-1); Willie Brennan (1-0); Kevin Sweeney (0-2); James Doyle, Liam Hickey (0-1 each).

Semi-Final:   Galway 0-17   Tipperary   1-11

Barry Keane was Galway’s hero of the day, landing nine points as the Tribesmen defeated Tipperary 0-17 to 1-11 in the other semi-final clash.

Tipperary  had led 0-9 to 0-5 at half-time, but Galway, with Keane leading the line,  hit 10 consecutive points in the second half  reach today’s final in Thomastown against the Cats.

Despite the efforts of Tipp, Galway controlled this game for long periods and deservedly reached the final where they will face a great challenge from the  home side.

Verdict: A narrow Kilkenny win on ‘home soil’ but it will be mighty close.

Other interesting facts:

- This championship first started in 1961

- Galway lead the role of honour with 16 titles. Tipperary are next with 14, Cork on 10, Kilkenny on 8, with Clare, Antrim and Limerick with 1 each.

- Galway’s last title was 2003 / Kilkenny’s last title was 1991

- Kilkenny will be hoping to avoid of hatrick of final defeats, as they lost both 2010 and 2011 finals (both times to Tipperary).

- Galway’s 16 titles include an incredible 8 in a row, a 4 in a row and a 3 in a row.

- Galways victorious years were 1980-1987, 1992-1995, 1999, 2001

Hurling Roll of Honour

2011 Tipperary Kilkenny
2010 Tipperary Kilkenny
2009 Cork Offaly
2008 Cork Galway
2007 Cork Galway
2006 Cork Tipperary
2005 Cork Tipperary
2004 Tipperary Offaly
2003 Galway Tipperary
2002 Galway Tipperary
2001 Galway Cork
2000 Cork Galway
1999 Galway Tipperary
1998 Cork Galway
1997 Cork Galway
1996 Cork Galway
1995 Galway Cork
1994 Galway Tipperary
1993 Galway Tipperary
1992 Galway Kilkenny
1991 Kilkenny Offaly
1990 Tipperary Kilkenny
1989 Kilkenny Offaly
1988 Tipperary Kilkenny
1987 Galway Offaly
1986 Galway North Tipperary
1985 Galway Offaly
1984 Galway Offaly
1983 Galway Kilkenny
1982 Galway Offaly
1981 Galway Offaly
1980 Galway Down
1979 Clare Kilkenny
1978 North Tipperary Kilkenny
1977 Kilkenny North Tipperary
1976 Kilkenny Galway
1975 Kilkenny North Tipperary
1974 North Tipperary Offaly
1973 Kilkenny North Tipperary
1972 Kilkenny Cork
1971 Antrim North Tipperary
1970 Cork County Offaly
1969 North Tipperary Offaly
1968 North Tipperary Antrim
1967 North Tipperary Offaly
1966 North Tipperary Wexford
1965 North Tipperary Kilkenny
1964 North Tipperary Down
1963 Kilkenny Cork City
1962 North Tipperary Kilkenny
1961 Limerick City Kilkenny

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>