Team Captains announced for Naas Jockey Olympics

Updated: February 13, 2012

Click for the betting on the Cheltenham Gold Cup and claim your free bets

Barry Geraghty, Paul Carberry, Davy Russell and Nina Carberry have been announced as the 2012 team captains for this year’s Jockey Olympics taking place at Cheltenham Trial day at Naas Racecourse on Sunday 26th of February.

The event is to raise funds for the Haiti people, who are still recovering from the devastating earthquake that ripped through their country. The quake tore through the capital of Port-au-Prince and surrounding areas leading to thousands of people been killed.

The loss of life, destruction and long-term affects on the country and the survivors required an immediate and comprehensive aid response from the international community.

Geraghty will be looking to repeat the success that he had in 2011 when he led his team of Robert Power, John Cullen, Alan Crowe and Paddy Flood to victory, which included a lap of honour around the parade ring.

The competition will incorporate three events, an egg and spoons race, a three-legged race and the final event will be a relay race when they will be required to pass off the whip as their baton.

Speaking ahead of Sunday, Geraghty said “I always enjoy this pre-Cheltenham day and with just over a week to go, this meeting has a great knack for producing a Cheltenham hopeful or two. It always gets a good crowd as the jump racing is top notch.

“I’ve always fancied myself as a bit of Olympic athlete and these grueling challenges will certainly put me and my team of elite athletes to the test!

“I’m most concerned about Nina Carberry’s Ladies team being highly skilled so I hope Paul and Davy Russell have their teams in training too!”

MC for the day Hector O’hEochagain is also looking forward to Sunday. “Jockeys are renowned for their high levels of competitiveness; this competitiveness will be raised to an all time new level at the Jockey Olympics at Naas racecourse Sunday 26th February. Come and see jockeys out of their comfort zone and into the Olympic zone!”

Barry Geraghty’s Team: Robert ‘Puppy’ Power, John Cullen, Paddy Flood.

Paul Carberry’s Team: Davy Condon, Niall ‘Slippers’ Madden & Keith Donoghue.

Davy Russell’s Team: Mark Walsh, Tom Doyle, Alan ‘Birdy’ Crowe.

Nina Carberry’s Team: Katie Walsh, Kate Harrington & Liz Lawlor.

The first race will be off at 1.45pm. The Jockey Olympics will take place in the parade ring into two sessions, after the 2nd race and after the 4th race.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>