Breen takes second place at Rally Sweden

Updated: February 13, 2012

Craig Breen took second place today at the SWRC section of the World Rally Championship in Sweden.

The finish means Breen now has an 18 point lead in the Super 2000 World Rally Championship after two rounds.

The Waterford driver had an indifferent start to the weekend on Thursday and early Friday but over the course of Friday afternoon he established himself in second position, behind home favourite PG Andersson and ahead of Swedish wildcard Pontus Tidemand. On Saturday Breen concentrated on holding his positioning and scored a fastest time on Stage 11 in his Ford Fiesta S2000.

On Sunday the Motorsport Ireland International Driver of the Year worked to hold on to his second place keeping an eye on Tidemand’s progress while dealing with some difficult conditions on the snow covered stages. The 22-year-old held second place going into the final Powerstage today and another careful drive saw Breen come home in second and 16th overall in the event.

Breen finished 3 minutes and 35 seconds behind the home winner PG Andersson with Pontus Tidemanda further 1 minute and 14 seconds back. The Irish driver now has 43 points after his win in the first round in Monte Carlo with Andersson 18 points back on 25 ahead of Rally Portugal in March.

“I’m delighted with result,” said Breen as he crossed the finish line of the 24th and final stage. “But first I want to congratulate P-G Andersson on his win; he suffered horrible luck on the ‘Monte’ when he retired with only two stages to go. For myself, I’m very pleased with this result; P-G is on home and has shown some incredible speed here over the three days. I managed to score a few fastest stage times myself and I’m happy with my overall pace. It’s a great start to the season and now we look forward to Portugal in March.”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>