Brennan named Dublin captain

Updated: March 3, 2012

Ger Brennan was been named Dublin captain for the Allianz National Football League tussle with Laois whilst Michael Savage replaces Stephen Cluxton in goal.

Click to have 20e on Man Utd to beat Tottenham @ 3/1, they are 6/4 best price and as an added bonus receive a 40e free bet

Centre back Brennan takes over as skipper in the absence of last year’s All-Ireland winning captain Bryan Cullen. Cullen is replaced in the forward line by Fingallian’s Paul Flynn. St Vincent’s clubman Savage – who played two games in last year’s league – gets the nod ahead of regular goalkeeper Stephen Cluxton.
James McCarthy failed in his hearing on Friday morning to have his red card rescinded from the Mayo clash, so Dublin currently have a vacancy at right wing-back. McCarthy will serve his one-match ban against Laois but will be free for selection against Armagh on 13th March at Croke Park.
Michael Darragh Macauley, Alan Brogan and Bernard Brogan will all start on the bench. All three are said to be carrying slight knocks but are likely to feature at some stage of Saturday night’s match which has a 7p.m. throw-in at Laois’ O’Moore Park.
Saturday night’s game is Dublin’s first game of a sequence of games that sees them play six weekend’s in-a-row owing to the rescheduling of the clash with Mayo – (away) v Laois (Saturday, 3rd March), home v Armagh (Sunday, 11th March), away v Down (Sunday 18th March), home v Donegal (Saturday 24th March), away v Mayo (Saturday 31st March), away v Cork (Sunday 8th April).
The starting 15′s are as follows:
DUBLIN (SF v Laois)
1 Michael Savage, 2 Darren Daly, 3 Rory O’Carroll, 4 Philly McMahon, 5 AN Other; 6 Ger Brennan (Captain), 7 Craig Dias, 27 Eamon Fennell, 8 Ross McConnell, 24 Paul Flynn, 10. Paul Brogan; 11 Kevin McManamon, 13 Diarmuid Connolly, 14 Eoghan O’Gara, 15 Tomás Quinn

LAOIS (SF v Dublin)
1 Eoin Culliton, 2 Cahir Healy, 3 Kieran Lillis, 4 Peter O’Leary, 5 Darren Strong; 6 Kevin Meaney, 7 Conor Boyle, 8 Brendan Quigley, 9 John O’Loughlin, 10 Ross Munnelly, 11 Colm Begley; 12 Damien O’Connor, 13 Paul Cahillane, 14 Padraig Clancy, 15 Billy Sheehan

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>