Connacht U21: Roscommon v Mayo live score updates

Updated: March 21, 2012

Team News and Live Score Updates from Cadburys Connacht GAA U21 Championship Football 2012


Wednesday 21st March 2012
Roscommon vs. Mayo, Kiltoom, 7.30pm Referee: R. McBrien(L)

Roscommon take on Mayo in the first of this year’s Cadbury’s Connacht Under 21 semi-finals at Pairc Naomh Bríd, in Kiltoom with the winners going through to meet Saturday’s second semi-final winners ,Sligo or Leitrim.
They meet on Saturday in Markievicz Park, Sligo

Mayo are strong favourites to defeat the Rossies albeit at St Brigid’s in Kiltoom. It is hard to oppose Mayo on this occasion – they have named an unchanged side from their last outing when they had that magnificent win against All Ireland champions Galway.
Key men for Mayo? Captain Danny Geraghty and especially his Ballintubber clubmate, Cillian O’Connor whose 0-9 in the preliminary round against Galway was a ‘man of the match’ winning performance.

Roscommon will be looking to Paddy Brogan, Fintan Kelly and Niall Kilroy to cause an upset.

Verdict: A Mayo win with five points to spare

Team News
Roscommon: 1 Naos Connaughton (St Dominics), 2 Ronan Stack (St. Brigids), 3 Cathal Duignan (Clann na Gael), 4 David Murray (Padraig Pearses), 5 Conor Daly (Padraig Pearses), 6 Paddy Brogan (C) (Strokestown), 7 Ciaran Cafferkey (Western Gaels), 8 Fintan Kelly (Castlerea St Kevins), 9 Niall Daly (Padraig Pearses), 10 Finbarr Cregg (Western Gaels), 11 Niall Kilroy (Fuerty), 12 Darren Clabby (Kilbride), 13 Cian Connolly (Roscommon Gaels), 14 Colin Compton (Strokestown), 15 Donal Smith (Boyle)

Mayo: 1.Paul Mannion (Mayo Gaels); 2. Michael Walsh (Ardnaree),3. Niall Freeman (Aghamore), 4.David Gavin (Breaffy); 5. Caolan Crowe (Garrymore), 6.Shane McDermott (Burrishoole), 7.Micheál Forde (Ballycastle); 8.Danny Kirby (Castlebar Mitchels),9. Danny Geraghty (Ballintubber, captain); 10.Andrew Farrell (Killala), 11.Aidan Walsh (Castlebar Mitchels), 12 Darren Coen (Hollymount-Carramore); 13.Evan Regan (Ballina Stephenites), 14. Cillian O’Connor (Ballintubber), 15. Conor O’Shea (Breaffy)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>