Rushe goal earns last-gasp draw for Dublin

Updated: March 25, 2012

Liam Rushe scored a goal for Dublin four minutes into injury-time to ensure a draw against Tipperary at Croke Park.

Last year’s league champions looked to have been beaten after the sides had been level 10 times.  Tipperary had led by 0-09 to 0-07 at half-time as points just before the whistle from Brian O’Meara and Pa Bourke saw the 2009 All-Ireland champions retire with the lead at the short whistle.

Dublin hit back with a David Treacy goal putting the league champions into the lead on 38 minutes.  Treacy has had a number of hamstring injuries which have ruled him out for much of the last two years but he looked back to his best at Croke Park.  Treacy proceeded to notch two points and with the score now 1-10 to 0-10;  Dublin appeared to be turning the screw.

Tipperary however scored four of the next five points and the score was level well inside the last ten minutes.  O’Callaghan and sub Ryan traded points late on before Niall McMorrow and Tipperary native O’Dwyer both pointed to push Dublin 1-14 to 0-15 ahead in the 62nd minute, but Tipperary kept going to lead by three in injury-time.

Rushe rose brilliantly to grab a long ball from Joey Boland and run clear before slamming a shot to the Tipp net, though he probably took too many steps.

Dublin: D Treacy, L Rushe 1-02 each, A McCrabbe 0-03 (0-02f), N McMorrow, R O’Dwyer, D Sutcliffe 0-02 each, J McCaffrey, D O’Callaghan 0-01 each

Tipperary: P Bourke 0-06 (0-05f), B O’Meara 0-05, N McGrath 0-04 (0-02f), J O’Keeffe 0-02, B Maher, S McGrath, J Ryan 0-01 each

Dublin: G Maguire; N Corcoran, P Schutte, R Treanor; M Carton, J Boland, J McCaffrey; S Durkin, S Lambert; L Rushe, R O’Dwyer, D Sutcliffe; E Dillon, D O’Callaghan, A McCrabbe.

Subs used: D Treacy for Dillon (half-time), S Stapleton for Lambert (52 mins), N McMorrow for McCrabbe (55), M O’Brien for Schutte (58).

Tipperary: D Gleeson; D Maher, P Curran, C O’Brien; T Stapleton, J Coghlan, P Maher; B Maher, J Woodlock; G Ryan, N McGrath, P Bourke; J O’Neill, B O’Meara, S Bourke.

Subs used: J O’Brien for S Bourke (half-time), D Young for Coghlan (46 mins), J Ryan for P Bourke (48), S McGrath for Woodlock (58), T Hammersley for O’Neill (69).

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>