Chris Henry to captain Irish Wolfhounds

Updated: January 26, 2012

Click here for the latest odds on winning the Six Nations from Betfair

Ulster flanker Chris Henry will captain the Ireland Wolfhounds in their match against England Saxons on Saturday.

The 27 year old will lead a relatively inexperienced side, with the matchday squad including nine players who are uncapped at senior level.

Gavin Duffy will start at full back and the 30 year old will add experience to the team. David Kearney and Simon Zebo will start on the wings.

The centres will be Nevin Spence and Eoin O’Malley, with Isaac Boss starting at scrum-half and Ian Keatley at out-half.

Damien Varley starts at hooker and is joined on the front row by Connaught’s Brett Wilkinson and Munster’s Stephen Archer.

The second row consists of Dan Tuohy and Mike McCarthy, while Henry, John Muldoon and Rhys Ruddock start in the back-row.

Full internationals Tomas O’Leary, Kevin McLaughlin and Devin Toner will have to settle for a place on the bench.

Ireland Wolfhounds: Gavin Duffy (Connacht), David Kearney (Leinster), Eoin O’Malley (Leinster), Nevin Spence (Ulster), Simon Zebo (Munster), Ian Keatley (Munster), Isaac Boss (Leinster), Brett Wilkinson (Connacht), Damien Varley (Munster), Stephen Archer (Munster), Dan Tuohy (Ulster), Mike McCarthy (Connacht), John Muldoon (Connacht), Chris Henry (Ulster) capt, Rhys Ruddock (Leinster)

Replacements: Mike Sherry (Munster), Ronan Loughney (Connacht), Devin Toner (Leinster), Kevin McLaughlin (Leinster), Tomas O’Leary (Munster), Ian Madigan (Leinster), Denis Hurley (Munster)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>