Irish hockey team fail to qualify for Olympics

Updated: March 18, 2012

It was heartbreak for Irish hockey in Belfield this afternoon as Ireland lost 3-2 to Korea.

Ireland opened holding the majority of play in the first ten  minutes showing composure and patience as they looked for a way to break through and attack. Ireland’s efforts paid off when they secured the first penalty corner in the 13th minute, John Jermyn’s initial drag was saved but a quick Peter Caruth pounced on the rebound for a close range slap to go one nil up.


David Harte was called into action minutes later closing out the chance for Korea to get a clean strike away. Korea began to find rhythm and again looked dangerous in the Irish circle but the post this time kept their efforts out and Ireland’s 1-0 lead in tact. Ireland were forced into a spell of pressure but a solid looking Irish defence reacted well to the Korean efforts.


Korea finally equalised with a close range shot after working along the backline to set up Yong Nam Lee at the penalty spot and one all at half time.


Ireland started with great initiative Mikie Watt weaving his way up the right but the attack yielded no goal. Ireland came close with some great build up work from Gleghorne and Darling to put through two bouncing balls across the circle but Ireland just couldn’t get the touch. Ireland secured a penalty corner with less than a quarter to go and marksman Timmy Cockram was on hand to push Ireland into the lead once again.


Ireland conceded a penalty stroke minutes later and Woo Hyun Nam made no mistake to level the sides to 2-2.


Korea had a golden chance to go ahead minutes later but a phenomenal Harte in goals kept the drag effort out. With just 8 seconds left on the clock Irish hearts broke as a free in received a deft touch by Korea’s number 6, Nam Young Lee to give his side the 3-2 win and Olympic place.


Ireland Starting XI: David Harte; John Jackson; Geoff McCabe; Ronan Gormley; Michael Watt; John Jermyn; Ian Sloan; Mitch Darling; David Ames; Paul Gleghorne; Stuart Loughrey

reserves: Chris Cargo; John Jermyn; Peter Caruth; Andy McConnell; Timmy Cockram


Final Placings; 1) Korea; 2) Ireland; 3) Malaysia; 4) Russia; 5) Ukraine 6) Chile

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>