Tipperary are Munster Hurling champions 2012

Updated: July 16, 2012

Tipperary produce battling performance to retain their Munster crown against Waterford: Tipperary 2-17 – Waterford 0-16

Tipperary earned an All Ireland semi-final berth, courtesy of a hard fought seven point win against a battling Waterford side in today’s Munster SHC Final in Páirc Uí Chaoimh.

The final score line flattered the winners somewhat as this was a keenly contested game, but Micheal Ryan’s charges were let down by some wayward second half shooting. They started the game very well and moved into an early lead, with John Mullane and Shane Walsh prominent up front. But Tipperary responded with an excellent goal from John O’ Brien.

Lar Corbett was surprisingly played in a withdrawn role and he failed to make a major impact on the game, often over playing the ball and getting turned over in possession. Both defences were on top in the first period and scores were hard to come by. The two teams headed in for the half-time interval all square on a score line of Tipperary 1-08 – Waterford 0-11.

The reigning Munster champions opened the second period with purpose and quick scores from star man John O’ Brien, Noel McGrath and Brian O’ Meara put some daylight between the sides. The Déise men meanwhile were struggling to find the target from both play and frees and several excellent opportunities were squandered. Maurice Shanahan’s accuracy from placed balls completely deserted him.

On 54 minutes Shane Bourke came in to the game and made an immediate impact, he poached a goal from a short range ground stroke and shortly afterwards he landed a trademark point off his left hand side. Waterford did their best to respond, but some very poor wides seriously damaged their chances and they were unable to land the goal that would have kick started their challenge. Substitute Eoin Kelly closed out the game with two late scores for Tipp and they retained their Munster crown with some comfort in the end.

This victory earns Tipperary a place in the semi-finals and they will now fancy their chances of making a fourth All Ireland final in succession. Waterford will have mixed emotions about today’s game as an excellent performance was undermined by some extremely poor shooting. But no doubt they will regroup and provide formidable opposition for any team in the quarter-finals.

Tipperary: B Cummins, C O’ Brien, P Curran, M Cahill (0-01), T Stapleton, C O’ Mahoney, P Maher (0-01), B Maher, S McGrath(0-01), P Bourke (0-02,2f), P Maher, L Corbett, B O’ Meara (0-02),J O’ Brien (1-03), N McGrath (0-03).

Subs: E Kelly (0-03,2f) for p Bourke, S Bourke (1-01) for B O’Meara, D Maher for T Stapleton, S Calinann for N McGrath.

Waterford: S O’ Keefe, N Connors, L Lawlor, S Daniels, T Browne, M Walsh, K Moran, S Molumphy (0-01), P Mahoney, Pauric Mahoney (0-01), S Prendergast, M Shanahan(0-08,5f,1 65), J Mullane (0-03), S Walsh (0-02), G O’ Brien.

Subs: E Kelly (0-01,1f) for G O’ Brien, P O’ Brien for Pauric Mahoney, M O’ Neill for S Walsh, J Nagle for T Browne.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>