Weekend Rally Round up: Derrek McGarrity shines

Updated: March 19, 2012

McGrady Insurance Bishopscourt Stages Rally 2012 Review & West Cork Rally Round up Day 1

North and South of the Irish Border for Rally Festivities on this St. Patrick’s Day 2012. Beginning North of the border for the McGrady Insurance Bishopscourt Stages, hosted the second round of the Northern Ireland Rally Championship & round two of the Junior 1000 Rally Challenge (Northern Ireland).

The WRC Mini won the Main Rally for Derrek McGarrity with co-driver James McKee. Hotly following in second place 0.51 seconds behind the leader was Kieron Gaffin and co-driver Neil Doherty in their Subaru Impreza S9. WRC Mini also dominated third position of the main field with Derek McGeehan and co-driver Laurie Smyth just 0.52 behind McGarrity/McKee.

For the Junior Rally Championship, Ben Crealy/Liam Regan won the round, Kyle White/Alan Purdy 0.20 behind the winners in second place and Rhys Bunning/Andrew Bushe in third place.

The Quality Hotel West Cork Rally hosts the first rounds of two championships, the Southern 4 Rally Championship and Citroen Racing Trophy Ireland. With a very strong start list for the first day, the luck is really with the leprechauns for this opening round.

Along with a very strong local contingency filling places for a spin in this popular rally, competitors from all over UK predominantly Wales have made the trip for these St. Patrick weekend’s stages.

After Day 1 the seeding stood its stead with Daragh O’Riordain and co-driver Tony McDaid topping the times for the first eight stages held on day one in their Subaru S12. Colm Murphy with co-driver Don Montgomery held second place all day 01.46 at end of SS8 behind O’Riordain/McDaid in their Subaru N12. John Dalton and co-driver Gwynfor Jones hold third place overall 01.57 behind the leaders.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>